Welcome to the Traders Laboratory.

Coding Forum Collaborate, receive help, or discuss indicators and other coding-related topics

Old 05-24-2009, 03:26 AM   #1

Ignore this user

Thanked 1,443 Times in 502 Posts

Programming: Where to Start?

Decided to take another stab at learning programming. Its been my number weakness for years and yet Ive been delaying this requirement.

Can anyone recommend any programming language and books on where to start? Primarily interested in being able to code strategies for various platforms. So probably best if I begin with something general and compatible with all the mainstream platforms. Thanks!
Old 05-24-2009, 03:46 AM   #2

Ignore this user

Re: Programming: Where to Start?

If you want a general idea, I think C++ is a good place to start.

C++ Language Tutorial

As far as a trading-specific language, I think Easy Language is most widely used, though I have no experience with it:

https://www.tradestation.com/support...ylanguage.aspx

I'm a programming newbie, but I've read a lot about getting started...It's just that I never get past the "getting started" phase. I've written a "hello world" program in c++ many, many times.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to diablo272 For This Useful Post:
bathrobe (07-10-2009), Soultrader (05-24-2009)
Old 05-24-2009, 04:26 AM   #3

Ignore this user

If you want to be serious :

1) Refresh your math skills(take a course, no excuses...I said serious...).

2) Have a clear goal what you want to attempt.

3) C# is great (Ninja), Easylang is ok(depends on what you want to achieve, thus if you have very very smart ideas (like me ...lol) you will need to exe them on a platform that has no limits ( TS and MC are not the way to go , why ? well these programs cannot calc Multimarket analysis well at all unless you use Global variables, and for that you will need to know C# ...again its all in what you want to attempt).