Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

TraderBG

Best College Degree For Traders

I'm still a sophomore in college and have not yet decided what I will major in. I want to make efficient use of my time and make whatever I major in work for the betterment of my trading. Starting out I was leaning towards economics and finance obviously but I'm noticing how much of a role psychology plays in the market. So I'm curious what other traders think. What would you choose and why? And yes I know that no degree in the world teaches trading and only screen time makes a trader so no need to reiterate this to me but since I'm already getting a degree, which one can be utilized the best?

ps I'm currently a daytrader and will probably always be but I do hope to one day incorporate swing trading into the mix.

Thanks for any advice

My degree is in finance and business mgmt BG and that has served me well. I think seeing the different views of the market and also having some courses in managing a business has helped. The one thing that really helped me was that in the finance dept a new professor at the time got a stock trading/analyzing course together where the school gave this class $250k in real money to manage. That was the best experience I had in college by far. While we were more of a fundamental swing trading group, it really opened my eyes to what was going on.