Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

Soultrader

Currency Futures Question

Hello guys and gals,

I am complete newbie when it comes to Forex and currency futures. I decided to start watching a few pairs to get a hang of it and perhaps find some good opportunities in the near future to trade.

I have a few questions. First I would prefer to trade currency futures. What pairs are recommended and what are the symbols for Tradestation? I pulled up a Japanese Yen chart with the symbol @JY. On the cme website it states that 1 point is equivalent to $12.50 per contract. Would a move from 0.84 to 0.841 be equivalane to 10 points or $125.00 per contract? I noticed that the liquidit is extremely low for the @JY and just entering would lead to serious slippage.

Im starting off with simple observation and strategies using trendlines for perhaps a 1-3 day swing opportunity. (wont be trading them yet though) Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

yen.jpg.3459f939b02912815dee743a96e7730d.jpg