Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

Mr_You

Software for Automating Tape Reading?

Hello! I'm a total newb to trading. I've been a systems engineer for over 15 years now and ready for a career change. I'm mostly interested in tape reading and so that is the current path I am taking. But I am also interested in automated trading, quantitative analysis, etc. So I've been searching for which software I should invest my time and money. I did a quick search in this sub-forum and didn't find an answer.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but the latest versions of Ninja Trader and MultiCharts do not appear to offer automated trading with enough flexibility/tick detail to "read the tape". Or maybe MultiCharts comes close but their PowerLanguage is not flexible enough?

I'm also very interested in Python, R+RStudio, but the libraries available do not appear to be as complete as most trading-specific software packages. It would essentially require me to write my own functions which may not be a huge problem but it requires more initial effort to get up and running.

I understand Matlab is the dominant tool for quantitative analyst but R seems to have a lot of momentum. Its also free which greatly reduces your cost if your using multiple machines.