Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

simterann22

Getting Stopped Out Before My Stop Level

Hi all,

I am VERY new to Forex. I have been trading futures but like to play Forex on my sim account at present....and I love it if only I can break this problem.

Anyway....I've been setting up bracket trades around congestion and pivot points to capture breakouts. I found I was getting my stops hit prematurely so I increased my buffer by making my stops further out. Still no luck. So what 'they' do is get me in the trade, charge me at an inflated market price then it goes against me! ARGGGGH!

You will see in the attachments on a GBPCHF trade that my stop was set at 1.75660 but the price never exceeded 1.75610. Huh?

Is this because of the spread (which I'm still not fully aware of or is it the way I'm setting up my trades?

Thanks a lot.

5aa70eef619fa_GBPCHFtrade.thumb.jpg.51d04731ca04122fef36496f38dac746.jpg

5aa70eef682fd_GBPCHFTradeChart.thumb.png.b99dee692f1df990fd41b58fc383e68b.png

Hi all,

I am VERY new to Forex. I have been trading futures but like to play Forex on my sim account at present....and I love it if only I can break this problem.