Welcome to the Traders Laboratory.

Technical Analysis The technical discussion forum for traders.

Old 02-11-2009, 07:03 PM   #1

Ignore this user

S&P Intraday Range and VIX

I wanted to start a discussion on this topic of thinking about the intraday high to low range of the S&P futures and the level of the VIX. I am not an options expert by any means -- but have spoken to some option market makers about this and here are some thoughts. Any options experts that would like to chime in would be great for discussion.

1. VIX and range should be related

VIX is 30-day implied volatility of returns. The term 'returns' implies that it is measuring the 'closing price to closing price' volatility. So there is a difference here -- 'close to close' is different than 'range' (ie, the high vs the low). Nevertheless, the ranges will likely be affected by the same things that are causing 'close-to-close return volatility'.

2. VIX Math Basics: VIX is stated as an annual percentage

To convert an annual VIX percentage to a single day percentage, the math is to take the square root of the number of trading days in a year. ie 252^(1/2). Divide VIX by this number (~15.9).

example, a 30 VIX equates to a single day return volatility of 30 / (252^0.5)

=~1.89%
This would be the expected average daily % change over the next 30 days.

You can re-arrange this formula and ballpark an implied volatility from daily returns. For example, if price has varied by 1.89% -- then you have"
(252^0.5) = ~15.9

.0189 x 15.9 = 30

Note, VIX is a weighted average of the current month and next month options volatility. This calculation is done every day such that you are always comparing apples to apples (ie, if you used only the near-term contract then it wouldn't be a consistent 30-day-forward looking calculation).

3. How does VIX do at predicting the forward 30-day close-to-close return volatility?