Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

quadcam

Setting Price Target and Stop Loss

Hey all,

I'm new to the forums and recently started swing trading the stock market. A little before my question, I've been messing with investing on and off for a few years. I started out with a very low funded buy and hold account with no real clue as to what I was doing. Up to that point the only thing I had done was read the motley fool investing workbook.

So I bought a few low priced stocks made a few bucks profit on some but mostly lost more than I made. fast forward a few years and finally decided to take advantage of the 401k from my employer, picked a few risky funds and had a decent return. One day my employer offers a new option "self directed brokerage account" I'm all over that. so i dump my mutual funds and lose $1300 right off the bat, then I start buying stocks....again no clue about money management or really how to pick a stock. "hey i have $5000 so i'll just buy 3500 worth of this one and 1500 of that" :crap: ignorance is bliss i guess