Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

cunparis

How to Make a Data into an Oscillator?

Hi, this is one of my first posts here but I've been lurking for a while. I'm a professional software develop (Java) and I've been developing trading systems and tools, both automated and discretionary. However I'm not that good at math.

I have some data that I'd like to turn into an oscillator but I'm not sure how. Ideally I'd like my oscillator to go between 0 and 100 if possible but that's not totally necessary. I've been playing around with the stochastic formula and also MACD. It seems those are the most used to make oscillators.

To take a couple examples, I'd like to make an oscillator of the put/call ratio. One could say it's already an oscillator but it's not centered around zero and it often leans one way or the other for long periods of time.

Another example is the TICK index. I'd like to come up with an oscillator for that.

Another example is I'd like to see if I can use the overnight range (using ES for this example) to make something useful. I have no idea if this will work but I'd like to give it a shot.

I can handle the coding, so if you feel like sharing some ideas I'll code it up and post the code & charts for everyone's benefits. I'm hoping we can come up with something useful together.