Welcome to the Traders Laboratory.

Beginners Forum Interested in trading but don't know where to start? Post any questions you may have here.

Old 01-30-2007, 02:16 AM   #1

Ignore this user

What are the best technical indicators to daytrade YM?

Folks

I am a newbie.There are many technical indicators like RSI, MACD , sma, ema , Williamson% R, Arms indicator, TRIN etc., All of these may not be good for day trading. May be good for swing trading. What are the best indicators to learn for day trading to find oversold/overbought conditions, trend etc?

thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to sudha78 For This Useful Post:
Old 01-30-2007, 04:05 AM   #2

Ignore this user

Re: What are the best texchnical indicators to daytrade YM?

in my opinion, price, volume and TICKs.

I'll also compare all 4 markets with each other to see who is leading and lagging for the day. Along with VIX index.

TRIN and put/call, I have it up but they are always in conflict with me, so I just use what best suits me even though they offer clues on its own, I just cannot interpret it to make it profitable for me.

everything else lags because its a mathematical calculation.

I'd suggest understanding the psychology of trading first because no amount of indicators will help if you don't understand yourself and how you'll fit into the trading environment.

Not to be discouraging but its taken me 8 years to understand myself and the trading environment. A whole wack of money along with pain and emotional suffering.

The size of your account helps to survive but it is a right of passage to make it in this type of business. If you give up, you'll never succeed at this business.

Once you get that, its just a matter of working out the kinks to come up with a trading plan that fits your temperment and personality. You might not even be suited to intraday trade .

Last edited by wsam29; 01-30-2007 at 04:07 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to wsam29 For This Useful Post: