Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

ZenMachine

Differences Between Markets

Hello board!

I'm a total newbie who just starting learning about trading. I'm thinking to focus on the YM first and study how the market behaves and the business of trading, as the YM (from what I understand) is one of easier markets for beginning traders.

But once I get comfortable with it, I'd like to venture out to forex markets, possibly JPY/GBP or JPY/EUR.

Here's my question. Are futures and forex markets similar enough so leaning in one and moving to another makes sense? Or are they so different that learning in one and changeing to another is a waste of time, and I should rather start and stick in one area?

Thanks for your input.

I would start in whichever market you ultimately want to trade, and then switch if you need to. No market is going to be significantly "easier" than any other if you're just starting out and don't have a specific reason for trading the YM instead of a given currency pair. You're better off getting more experience in the market you're really interested in.

Yup... start with what you want to trade. They all have a "personality".