Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

Baker

Degree in Economics Vs Finance

I'm currently a student at a community college that will be transferring to a state school within the next year or so, and I'm having a difficult time deciding which degree would be more valuable, a degree in finance or a degree in economics. I want to work for a hedge fund or land a job at an investment bank and from what I've read, either degrees can do the job. I'm not sure which degree will give me the biggest bang for my buck. Anyone have an opinion on this?

personal opinion - go finance for a hedge fund.

it will likely be more practical that straight economics. Study econometrics (statistics), derivatives and credit as a course. Forget things such as "Issues of unemployment and women in 3rd world countries"

you can always do extra courses....and remember a degree might get you knocking on the door and any education is never a waste of time but it wont get you in, nor make you successful.

Look upon Finance as a derivative of Economics and closer to the operational aspects of a hedge fund. If you are the Strategy kind then go for Economics and Finance if you are the hands on trader types. But this is a lousy answer. No undergraduate degree prepares you for the realities of a profession.