Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

mslk

When Do You Add to a Position?

hi,

i'm an intraday stock trader and i've never had a problem cutting my losses. but i could use a little guidance when it comes to taking more advantage from my winners. i know one option is to add on dips. do you ever add to a position if it starts working right after you buy it? would love to hear from all intraday traders, regardless of instrument.

thanks

- mslk

hi,

i'm an intraday stock trader and i've never had a problem cutting my losses. but i could use a little guidance when it comes to taking more advantage from my winners. i know one option is to add on dips. do you ever add to a position if it starts working right after you buy it? would love to hear from all intraday traders, regardless of instrument.thanks

- mslk

In short term trading you add to winners at the end of a reaction, the beginning of the next action and only when you have enough equity in your position to move your stop to at least a break even on the first position and only after an initial move has proved your entry correct.

Averaging down or adding to a loser can't be considered in short term trading and probably shouldn't be considered in longer term trading.

Remember what Paul Tudor Jones said, "Losers add to Losers."

cheers