Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

mikeynero

Help Me Understand Who is in Control?

Hello all, I am a relatively new trader, and am trying to understand who is in control.

Most literature I’ve read on rising and declining prices, declare that if prices are rising the bulls are in control, and when declining the bears. Also stated is that when prices rise to a level where sellers overwhelm buyers (supply) prices begin to fall, and when declining to a level where buyers overwhelm sellers (demand) prices begin to rise. I am struggling with this concept and trying to understand. Although this seems logical on the surface, the idea seems fundamentally backwards to me – hear me out:

When prices are rising: If I am a buyer and demand is so high that my bid to buy a security is not met, and I am “forced” to raise my bid to buy the security, then in my thinking the seller is in control not the buyer.

When prices are declining: If I am a seller and supply is so high that my ask prices to sell the security is not met, and I am “forced” to lower my ask in order to sell, then in my thinking the buyer is in control not the seller.