Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

tucciotrader

Vix Options and Moneyness Vs Time Decay

Hi

I would like some help understanding how to trade the vix options. This is where I usually get informations about vix options.

Suppose I have the feeling the vix volatility index may increase in the future...

Since I am still a newbie with option pricing I must understand what I could be doing wrong by dealing with call options.

Originally my idea was to buy call option near the money or ATM. Yet, the premium is really costly!

So, I decided it'd be better for me to buy the vix thru a call options with a strike deeply OTM and mar/2011 as expire date, you can check them here: http://finance.yahoo.com/q/os?s=^VIX&m=2011-03

The vix is now trading at 19.00 and I thought I'd buy a call option at strike 60.00 which is 0.50$

Having said that, I know I could be facing time decay eventually, mostly because the more time passes by, the more the option extrinsic value will decrease...on the other hand the moneyness could affect option price too, for instance the more my option gets ATM the more its extrinsic value increase.

Now, I am stuck at this balance between moneyness versus time decay...Also, probaly there are more factors to take into account!

What do you think it would best way to long the vix thru options? Is there anyway to simulate options price evolving?

Thanks