Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

I am a beginner trader trying several strategies part time for last 18 months. I started as a value trader, went into selling covered calls during the crash, and have been trying monthly income option selling strategies for last 6 months or so as well as leaning short. Regardless to say I have not had success, but at least have not totally blown out my IRA's.

I have decided to stop all trading in live accounts till I get a better handle on what I want to do here and prove to myself that I can do it in a simulation environment.

Anyways, day trading in the vain that Al Brooks teaches is appealing to me and I have decided that not being able to trade live (as I will be at work during most trading sessions) may be a benefit to actually learning how to do it. I know I have a lot to learn but feel with time (maybe years), effort and a dedicated deliberate practice routine I can get there eventually. My question to anyone willing to help, is what are some of the specific skills that I need to develop and what are practices that you have used to develop them in yourself.

For example, identifying a trend line is a VERY basic skill that I can develop by running a chart and drawing a trend line as soon as I see one. Another example could be learning to estimate a 67% retracement from a move by making a mark where I think it is and then checking it against one is calculated.