Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

redrabbit

Newbie Questions

Hi. I am very new to options, at least in the sense that I haven't actually traded live with options. I've been hanging around forums but until now I still cannot find a sticky thread where all newbies should read before doing anything. I start this thread to ask some basic questions and would encourage anyone new to ask questions here too. Ok, here's the questions:

1) If I sell options, do I get the premium credited to my account instantly? Or does this depend on broker, eg some brokers may use the premium collected to offset the required margin?

2) If I sell options, and later on I suspect my trade will go bad, can I buy back at the same strike price to cancel the overall position?

Hi. I am very new to options, at least in the sense that I haven't actually traded live with options. I've been hanging around forums but until now I still cannot find a sticky thread where all newbies should read before doing anything. I start this thread to ask some basic questions and would encourage anyone new to ask questions here too. Ok, here's the questions:

you will need to take a course...

most brokerage have online seminar

some are live, where you can ask questions.

look up thinkorswim and interactivebrokers

they are the 2 biggies... ie most likely to have lots of newbie resources.