Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

TinGull

Spot vs Futures

Hi there,

I'm completely new to forex, and have been trying to figure out what is better to trade....the cash or the futures? While the cash market is unregulated, the futures are protected by an exchange, which is really nice, and the price you get from some so called non dealing desk brokers and dealing desk brokers isn't really the "price" that the big banks are getting, but futures contracts are just that....whether 1 or 100k contracts, it's the same price.

Is there a big difference in trading the futures for currency rather than the cash forex?

Thanks!!

Chris

I wouldn't say there's a big difference really, particularly not for the average retail based trader looking to execute on smaller than avg size.

There are pro's & cons with both alternatives.

The spot market is a seamless 24hr vehicle. Although much of the liquidity on the majors subsides as London closes, it still remains pretty accessible. Liquidity on the Futures however, dries up noticeably 'out of hours' & slippage can sometimes be experienced.

If an important item of news hits the market whilst the Futures market is quiet, the next session open can be a wild ride - this is where slippage & gap executions can be skewed.