Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

synonym

A True Composite Symbol for Multicharts.

Hi there

I'm a real coding novice and wondered if any of you experts (or non-experts, i'm not choosey!) out there could help me.

I want to be able to create a custom symbol in order to chart the spread differential between two (or ideally 3 or more) symbols in Multicharts.

I would want to be able to weight the consistuent symbols, so for example have symbol 1 as 1.00, symbol 2 as -0.50 and symbol 3 as -0.50. I would want the function to chart the differential between those symbols as one symbol (and not as an indicator). This would then allow me to utilise all of the indicators and functionality in MC to analyse this true composite symbol.

I know i can do this myself, through merging symbol data in excel and using ASCII format to bring it in to MC, but this is messy and timeconsuming. Ideally the composite symbol would be able to import the data from whatever dataprovider i am using and picking the data up from the selected symbols via quotemanager.

Someone has created a composite symbol (CompoSymbol) indicator on the MC forum and this can chart the differential between two symbols, but it does this as an indicator and so means you cannot have other indicators/analysis based on it.

I was wondering whether,

1. Is this actually possible in MC?