Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

gabroo_munda

Can Price Move Without Volume?

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this stuff so please excuse this dumb question.

As I understand.....volume is the number of completed transactions (buy and sell). So can price go from one point to another without volume? To clear my point...lets say there are only 2 participants. I want to buy commodity A. I tell the seller that I'll pay $200. he rejects...and i up my offer to #300. he does not agree and finally i make an offer of $400. So now the price has moved from $200 to $400...without any volume as we did not do any transaction. Is my understanding correct?

Thanks

In your example, you're offering higher and higher, but he can keep refusing forever. Price is simply the last traded price. Until a transaction takes place, there is no price.

Certainly an important point and not a begginers question in my view.

Quite frequently you can see price move with only very few volume (very rarely even without volume - this only in a not so liquid instrument when heavy news are appearing).

Anyway moves on low volume are to be noticed.

Unfortunately low volume moves can mean very different things and that's why people get confused using volume (and sometimes even refuse to use it).

Just as in your example. The person that refuses to make the deal can have completely different reasons for doing so: