Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

kenw232

Simple Long Call Question

Hello, I'm new to options trading. Is someone allowed to "sell to close" a Long Call before the strike price is reached?

For example AAPL is at about 402 a share now in middle of May. I come in and buy 1 contract of "Jul 20th - $600.00 Strike" for .35 cents for a total cost of $35.

Say in June AAPL moves up to about 520 a share. Can I lock that profit in by selling to close the call now? Or do I have to wait until it hits the 600 strike price or until the expiry date on July 20 to find out what happens?

Thanks.

Say in June AAPL moves up to about 520 a share. Can I lock that profit in by selling to close the call now? Or do I have to wait until it hits the 600 strike price or until the expiry date on July 20 to find out what happens?

Thanks.

You can book the profit by selling the call of the same expiry (i.e. July 20) date and same strike (i.e. 600).

Hello, I'm new to options trading. Is someone allowed to "sell to close" a Long Call before the strike price is reached?

For example AAPL is at about 402 a share now in middle of May. I come in and buy 1 contract of "Jul 20th - $600.00 Strike" for .35 cents for a total cost of $35.

Thanks.

Ken, of course you can sell your Long Call anytime. But by the way, AAPL is not at 402, your message is from yesterday , its over 450 ..

Hari