Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

Nextek

Is it possible to trade without using any indicators?

Ive been reading a couple threads in this forum that use trading strategies without indicators. I am not familiar with this method but would like to learn more. Is it possible to trade with just price action alone? How do you take trade signals?

The day I took all my indicators off is the day I started trading profitably.

I dont use a single indicator on my charts, not even volume. I read tape to understand volume. I use a 233 TICK chart with pivot points and market profile.

Don't rely on indicators. There is good money selling indicators and will always remain popular. But like the name says... they indicate. Take a look at my chart.

noindicatorchart.jpg.86732f85f5646483b2dceafa7b1e9b79.jpg

Floor traders do not rely on indicators. They use mainly pivots to identify reversal points. As long as you can read order flow, you really do not need any indicators on your charts.

I know a floor trader who uses a notepad with several key price levels to trade. That is his only weapon and he's been doing it for over 10 years.

I use indicators, I use them a lot! One thing leads to another. Find the buttons and levers and how the indicators tend to move what ever it is you are trading and you will have an advantage. I keep harping about multiple windows and screens get them and use them!