Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

Rande Howell

Getting Control of the Fear of Missing Out

Déjà vu All Over Again

“This happens to me all the time. I’m a profitable trader, but I leave way too much money on the table. Each day I wake up resolved to stick to my trading plan. And I’m fine until I get into the trade. Then something goes haywire, particularly if I’ve already lost one. I get rattled as I watch the trade bounce around. The more I hold on to the trade, the more I feel the pressure build to get out of the trade. Then I don’t know what happens. When I finally see the trade becoming profitable, I've come unglued. I just want to get out with the profit I have before I lose it.

I get a jolt of relief when I get out of the roller coaster ride I’ve been on. I’ve got some profit. Then I watch the trade do exactly what it was supposed to do. I see it trend and I realize how much money I left on the table, again. In hindsight, I know in my right mind that I should have stuck to my trading rules, but my right mind just gets blindsided and my fearful mind takes over. I never see this coming. This is the biggest problem I have in trading. If I could get this one licked, I would be a very profitable trader.”

A Strong Will Never Wins Over an Excited Emotional Brain