Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

NeoTrader

US Dollar Becoming Toilet Paper

I know the title is a bit dramatic, but I was wanting to get other people's thoughts on what they do with their USD when the value is taking such a nasty hit, and who knows how long it will stay depressed. As you may have surmised by my screen name I'm new to the game, so I am interested in the opinions of more experience operators.

Is this even a factor to those folks who trade in USD?

How do you hedge against a falling dollar?

I think it's more than just the $. Paper money is just a fabrication and can be printed like monopoly money. Gold for example is giving a fairly clear indication of what people think about this. It has intrinsic value and as far as I know, alchemists haven't been able to turn lead into gold so far!

I think the important thing to try to maintain when it comes to paper money is relative stability. We don't want any major currency out of control and value needs to be changing steadily. That way, economies adapt over time. Also, it forces you to look to real assets which move in proportion to currencies(and perceptions).