Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

darthtrader

building a track record?

well since i'm a newb but at this point given up on the idea of a career outside of trading i would love to have a discussion on building a track record.

Is anyone else interested in this path? While i have zero interest in ever being "king trader of the street" looking at the CTAs on autumn gold it seems i may as well at least leave that door open.

anyone a CTA here? Anyone doing managed accounts in general?

Darth,

Excellent thread starter.

Here's some ideas that I have done, thought about doing, currently doing and/or might do in the future ;):

• Something as simple as Collective2 is a good starter option for building an independent record.
  • Start a newsletter and/or chat room service.
  • Managing money for friends/family, staying below the requirements to register (requirements dictated by instrument(s) being traded).
  • Get your CTA (for futures traders) to be able to mange more accounts, receive % of profits, and/or put an add-on to the commission charges.
  • Start an incubator fund.
  • Start a hedge fund.

Those are the options as I see it, assuming you want to work for yourself or at least be able to call the shots. You could also try to go to work for a fund or bank.