Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

Garry

3rd Party Front Ends for InteractiveBrokers

I have been trading for about 6 months and have decided to lower my transactions costs and move my account to IB. However, I have seen their trading platform and it seems a little cumbersome. They list several software partners on their website, but after a call to their IT department they don't want to offer recommendations on any of them. Can someone using a different front end to trade on the IB backend tell me about their experiences. I scalp and need quick in and out (flat) buttons that don't have a lot of technical issues interacting with the IB backend. Thanks for your help.

Garry

Gary,

IB's TWS can be intimidating as it has so many parts, most of which you'll probably never want to use.

For scalping the Book Trader application is no doubt the best as it was designed for scalping.

As always, it is a good idea to use a demo account to test anything new before comiting real money.

An alternative to Book Trader is "Button Trader" which is a third party front end.

It is an excellent product. Very flexible - the developer's support is amazing.