Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

carltonp

Position Sizing

Hello Fellow Traders,

I'm not sure if I'm phrasing this question correctly, but here goes.

As you'll probably guess from the following question, I'm fairly new to trading.

Over the last 10 weeks, 02/22/2011 to 04/01/2011 I have placed 46 trades. I currently trade equities.

Sixty one percent of the trades closed at a profit. However, the Pay-off Ratio is terrible, 0.64.

At the moment, I'm risking $100 per trade with R/R of 1:5. So for every $100 I would like to achieve $150. I size my trades purely on how much I would like to risk and how much I would like to gain. Therefore, the number of shares I purchase would be determined on this factor alone.

I would say that most of my winning trades close for about $100 and my losing trades stop me out at $100. The reason why I mention that is because it would seem the poor pay-off Ratio is partly due to taking profits before they reach $150 but always letting my losses run until they stop me out at $100. However, I don't believe that is the major reason for the poor pay-off ratio.

I believe the major reason for the poor pay-off ratio is due to bad position sizing. The problem is I don't know the best way to size my positions, other than how much I'm will to lose and how much I want to gain.

Another option is to stop trading equities and start trading another financial instrument.