Welcome to the new Traders Laboratory! Please bear with us as we finish the migration over the next few days. If you find any issues, want to leave feedback, get in touch with us, or offer suggestions please post to the Support forum here.

• Welcome Guests

Welcome. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest which does not give you access to all the great features at Traders Laboratory such as interacting with members, access to all forums, downloading attachments, and eligibility to win free giveaways. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free. Create a FREE Traders Laboratory account here.

Soultrader

How Many Trades Do You Make A Day?

Trades Per Day  

40 members have voted

1. 1. Trades Per Day

• 1-5
    • 5-15
    • 16-30
    • 31-50
    • More than 50

On average, not even one. I'm just learning. I've been using ScotTrade but just got approved by TS to get going on their platform. I'm sure I will trade more but I have to watch out not to do 4 round trips within a five day period.

Pattern Day Trading Accounts: Based on NASD and NYSE day trading rules, any account that places 4 day-trades in a 5 trading day period is permanently deemed to be a “Pattern Day Trading†account. Pattern Day Trading Accounts must maintain a minimum daily equity balance of US $25,000. If the account balance falls below $25,000, trading is restricted to closing transactions only until the account balance is increased to $25,000.

I don't have that much money, yet. My plan is to learn the ropes while I slowly build up my account. I've had some luck trading and have a better than average understanding of what's going on but still have a long way to go.

My first goal is to learn to choose winning trades consistantly with 100-300 shares or so with stocks from $2-$10. Next would be to average more than 5000 shares traded in a 1 month period so that the TS platform fees would be eliminated.